< Back
You are here  >   Curriculum  >  Wellbeing  >  House System



Hallett Cove School has four houses that compete annually for the Hallett Cove House Shield and awarded to the winning house at the final assembly for Year 12 students in November each year.

Points are awarded to each House based upon success in competitions such as Sports day and Standards Day.

The Four Houses are:

   Cooper    Sandison    Howchin    Tate


House Name History


Professor Harold M. Cooper worked as an anthropologist at Adelaide University spending many hours of field research in what is now known as the Hallett Cove Conservation Park. Cooper’s main interest was the campsites and significant range of artefacts that were created by Kaurna and Kartan aboriginal cultures. Around 1939 Harold M. Cooper recognised that Hallett Cove was a site of considerable archaeological significance. Cooper also systematically collected botanical and entomological specimens.


Mr George Sandison was the landowner who generously donated a narrow strip of land along the cliff top as a gift from his estate to the State. This was later added to and consolidated into the Sandison reserve in 1965 in order to preserve the unique evidence of aboriginal culture, geological features and natural vegetation.


Professor Walter Howchin, conducted significant research into the geological features found in the Hallett Cove Conservation Park. In 1893 Professor Walter Howchin concluded that the glacial deposits were probably of Permian Age (280 million years).


Hallett Cove first attracted the attention of scientists in 1877, when Professor Ralph Tate of Adelaide University accidentally discovered glacial pavements while looking for fossils.